* SOLVED * Huge problem with GT2560 board
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
Get the Pronterface. Use COM3 and BAUD of 250000 to connect. That's the only software that can talk to my board. You can use the GCode directly to send a command to your printer. Once you're connected, send the M503 to the command line to see the current status of your motherboard. If the screen populates with EEPROM config data that was set to your board, the problem would be your main firmware and not the USB chip. But first, you have to make sure that you downloaded the latest FTDI driver to your computer to properly set the COM ports.
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:07 pm
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
This is great info...but I am not a developer . Could you help me out with some examples? GCode to use? It will be a great help...hawth725 wrote:Get the Pronterface. Use COM3 and BAUD of 250000 to connect. That's the only software that can talk to my board. You can use the GCode directly to send a command to your printer. Once you're connected, send the M503 to the command line to see the current status of your motherboard. If the screen populates with EEPROM config data that was set to your board, the problem would be your main firmware and not the USB chip. But first, you have to make sure that you downloaded the latest FTDI driver to your computer to properly set the COM ports.
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:07 pm
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
Take a look it doesn't connect at all...I did exactly what you said...hawth725 wrote:Get the Pronterface. Use COM3 and BAUD of 250000 to connect. That's the only software that can talk to my board. You can use the GCode directly to send a command to your printer. Once you're connected, send the M503 to the command line to see the current status of your motherboard. If the screen populates with EEPROM config data that was set to your board, the problem would be your main firmware and not the USB chip. But first, you have to make sure that you downloaded the latest FTDI driver to your computer to properly set the COM ports.
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot_1.jpg (134.81 KiB) Viewed 17119 times
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
You missed to click the CONNECT tab besides the BAUD Rate setting.
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:07 pm
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
No I did and this is what its doing...trying to connect I also enabled "debug communications" to see what its doing (sending this M-105)hawth725 wrote:You missed to click the CONNECT tab besides the BAUD Rate setting.
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
I made mine work just now. Follow the ff steps, it might help you as well.jfotopoulos wrote:No I did and this is what its doing...trying to connect I also enabled "debug communications" to see what its doing (sending this M-105)hawth725 wrote:You missed to click the CONNECT tab besides the BAUD Rate setting.
1) Use Arduino 1.0.4
2) Download the Marlin-PI3 Pro B
3) Connect the USB and open the Device Manager. Once the new COM port appeared and detects your board (remove all motor driver boards), delete the driver and update it with the updated one.
4) Open the Arduino and the Config.h file.
5) Select the TOOLS tab and select the AtMega 1280 (not the 5260). That's if the main processor in your board was the AtMega 1280. But if it is the original AtMega 5260, choose the 5260. For sure, its the 1280.
6) Choose COM3
7) Choose "Arduino as ISP" as PROGRAMMER
8) Verify the file
9) Open the SKETCH tab and choose the Verify and Compile
10) Select the UPLOAD button
Try those steps and let me know if it help you. Good Luck!
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:07 pm
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
are you sure? my board is GT2560 REV Ahawth725 wrote:I made mine work just now. Follow the ff steps, it might help you as well.jfotopoulos wrote:No I did and this is what its doing...trying to connect I also enabled "debug communications" to see what its doing (sending this M-105)hawth725 wrote:You missed to click the CONNECT tab besides the BAUD Rate setting.
1) Use Arduino 1.0.4
2) Download the Marlin-PI3 Pro B
3) Connect the USB and open the Device Manager. Once the new COM port appeared and detects your board (remove all motor driver boards), delete the driver and update it with the updated one.
4) Open the Arduino and the Config.h file.
5) Select the TOOLS tab and select the AtMega 1280 (not the 5260). That's if the main processor in your board was the AtMega 1280. But if it is the original AtMega 5260, choose the 5260. For sure, its the 1280.
6) Choose COM3
7) Choose "Arduino as ISP" as PROGRAMMER
8) Verify the file
9) Open the SKETCH tab and choose the Verify and Compile
10) Select the UPLOAD button
Try those steps and let me know if it help you. Good Luck!
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
Yes. Same board number 2560 Rev A. But take a look on the processor part number it was used. If it says AtMega1280, use that and not the Arduino Mega 2560.
-
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:07 pm
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
Ok I will check it out as soon as I go home. What if its the 1280.hawth725 wrote:Yes. Same board number 2560 Rev A. But take a look on the processor part number it was used. If it says AtMega1280, use that and not the Arduino Mega 2560.
I've burned the 2560 bootloader.
Do I burn the 1280 first?
thanks again you've been most helpfull
Re: Huge problem with GT2560 board
No need to burn it. Just make sure you're using the Arduino 1.0.4 and set the "Arduino as ISP". I've tried it also but it didn't help. It gives me the AVRDUDE errors. So I immediately proceed to that plan I've told you, and it worked smoothly.jfotopoulos wrote:Ok I will check it out as soon as I go home. What if its the 1280.hawth725 wrote:Yes. Same board number 2560 Rev A. But take a look on the processor part number it was used. If it says AtMega1280, use that and not the Arduino Mega 2560.
I've burned the 2560 bootloader.
Do I burn the 1280 first?
thanks again you've been most helpfull
Let me know the progress. Good luck
Note: I'm trying to attach the my board's picture for your ref. But the file was too large to attach