3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
-
- Posts: 76
- Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:36 pm
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
You must enter command M280 P0 S10 to move the tip down. Below is some G code start my printer.
This script works for me.
M280 P0 S160 ;3d touch alarm off
M190 S111.000000 ;bed temp
M109 S231.000000 ;nozzle temp
G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
G28 X0 Y0 ;home
G28 Z0
G1 Z6.0 ; get the probe clear it is extended
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
M280 P0 S10 ;extend tip
M117 4 point AB Leveling ;Put leveling message on LCD screen
G28 ;basic home command--note--this must prceed immediately the G29 or it won't work
G29 P2 ; ABL routine [P] squared, 4 or 9 points
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E2 ;extrude 2mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F3000
M117 [your message here] ;Put printing [] up to 21 characters on LCD screen
This script works for me.
M280 P0 S160 ;3d touch alarm off
M190 S111.000000 ;bed temp
M109 S231.000000 ;nozzle temp
G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
G28 X0 Y0 ;home
G28 Z0
G1 Z6.0 ; get the probe clear it is extended
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
M280 P0 S10 ;extend tip
M117 4 point AB Leveling ;Put leveling message on LCD screen
G28 ;basic home command--note--this must prceed immediately the G29 or it won't work
G29 P2 ; ABL routine [P] squared, 4 or 9 points
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E2 ;extrude 2mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F3000
M117 [your message here] ;Put printing [] up to 21 characters on LCD screen
-
- Posts: 76
- Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:36 pm
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
I forgot to add that if I don't extend the pin and turn the LED off it goes up instead of down on G28 command.
Can we edit our posts on this forum?
Can we edit our posts on this forum?
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
I have been getting very inconsistent measurings lately from 3dTouch - it cannot even take 9 measures from the printbed without messing up
I just had enough of this sensor - I'll order the original instead.
I just had enough of this sensor - I'll order the original instead.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
Hi all,
thank you for your replay Dave. I double checked everything.... Clean pin. Switched on debug for the sensor. And finally I found sliding connector from the sensor to wires under the plastic spiral. On the long distance from 0 on axis x was not connected.... That is a little pitty, but I am glad that everything is OK. NiklasO - thank you for the great firmware.
thank you for your replay Dave. I double checked everything.... Clean pin. Switched on debug for the sensor. And finally I found sliding connector from the sensor to wires under the plastic spiral. On the long distance from 0 on axis x was not connected.... That is a little pitty, but I am glad that everything is OK. NiklasO - thank you for the great firmware.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
Well - I gave my sensor a final try and it seems I got it up and running again
Dismantled it as far as I could and put it back together.
After a firmware update/reset (again) to troubleshoot I now get crashes in the firmware. Repetier host crashes and tells me to run M999 to reset, but I have to cycle power on the printer.
OK, if it crashes when controlled from repetier but not OK if it crashes during print....time will tell..
My test subject was a fish fozzil from thingiverse
1hr 22minues later it was done.
Hopefully my printer is now working properly again...
Dismantled it as far as I could and put it back together.
After a firmware update/reset (again) to troubleshoot I now get crashes in the firmware. Repetier host crashes and tells me to run M999 to reset, but I have to cycle power on the printer.
OK, if it crashes when controlled from repetier but not OK if it crashes during print....time will tell..
My test subject was a fish fozzil from thingiverse
1hr 22minues later it was done.
Hopefully my printer is now working properly again...
-
- Posts: 76
- Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:36 pm
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
It bothers me that sometimes the 3D touch alarm starts flashing during a print. Consequently, I insert the command "M280 P0 S160" in a few places of the G-code to turn off the alarm. I put the command right after ;Layer:10, ;Layer;50, ;Layer:100,;Layer:150,;Layer:200, etc if I use Cura.
If I use Slic3r then I put "M280 P0 S160" after G1 Z1, G1 Z5 & G1 Z10, etc.
I would like to issue the command at each layer but I have not found out how to edit G-code to do that well.
If I use Slic3r then I put "M280 P0 S160" after G1 Z1, G1 Z5 & G1 Z10, etc.
I would like to issue the command at each layer but I have not found out how to edit G-code to do that well.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
This sensor is random ok, random crop.
The fish I printed was OK. Now 2days later the sensor is bad again... I have no trust in this thing.
The fish I printed was OK. Now 2days later the sensor is bad again... I have no trust in this thing.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
Now It is official - I have permanently removed the sensor from my 3d printer
Reason
I power on the printer - all is OK and sensor do "self test" up /down movements
I do "auto home" (X, Y homes and Z touches 1 time) - OH NO - the sensor fails to register the board and both Z stepper motors drives to the extreme bottom and jams up - I kill main power
I am forced to wind jammed motors backwards to unlock the nuts on the threaded rods that are tight up on the couplings. - I turn back motors as even as I can to not mess up the level of the X axis too much
Next up is to measure printboard to X-axis and see if they still are aligned (of course they aren't any more)
Then I power printer up again and sensor does self test ok
Then we try again "Auto Home" and this time sensor decides to actually register the printbed. - i'm glad something worked
Then we need to level the bed (u know when sensor measures 9 points on the printbed)
point 1-8 OK
point 9 SLAM into the printbed and we have again 2 jammed motors!
Thank you mr Sensor - I think I know what you want by now...
Rince and repeat (undoing motors measuring X and so on....
Then we power on again...all OK
Auto Home - OK
Level bed? _ this time OK what the heck?
Next up is to start a print and all of the sudden the so called measured table is all wonky
The printer fails to put down the 1st layer and I see on the Zmotors that they are working hard when printer moves - Is it really registered THAT wonky??? I mean it feels Like it thinks the board is off by 10mm in 1 end.
So - off goes the sensor forever! I'll make a video when I crack it to pieces with an axe in my garage and I will post it on youtube for the fun of it.
A simple microswitch endstop never fails to register - this does every so often and worst of all - it is not even consistent - various measures all the time.
1 time I leveled the bed 3 times in a row with various results - this is not good enough.
Reason
I power on the printer - all is OK and sensor do "self test" up /down movements
I do "auto home" (X, Y homes and Z touches 1 time) - OH NO - the sensor fails to register the board and both Z stepper motors drives to the extreme bottom and jams up - I kill main power
I am forced to wind jammed motors backwards to unlock the nuts on the threaded rods that are tight up on the couplings. - I turn back motors as even as I can to not mess up the level of the X axis too much
Next up is to measure printboard to X-axis and see if they still are aligned (of course they aren't any more)
Then I power printer up again and sensor does self test ok
Then we try again "Auto Home" and this time sensor decides to actually register the printbed. - i'm glad something worked
Then we need to level the bed (u know when sensor measures 9 points on the printbed)
point 1-8 OK
point 9 SLAM into the printbed and we have again 2 jammed motors!
Thank you mr Sensor - I think I know what you want by now...
Rince and repeat (undoing motors measuring X and so on....
Then we power on again...all OK
Auto Home - OK
Level bed? _ this time OK what the heck?
Next up is to start a print and all of the sudden the so called measured table is all wonky
The printer fails to put down the 1st layer and I see on the Zmotors that they are working hard when printer moves - Is it really registered THAT wonky??? I mean it feels Like it thinks the board is off by 10mm in 1 end.
So - off goes the sensor forever! I'll make a video when I crack it to pieces with an axe in my garage and I will post it on youtube for the fun of it.
A simple microswitch endstop never fails to register - this does every so often and worst of all - it is not even consistent - various measures all the time.
1 time I leveled the bed 3 times in a row with various results - this is not good enough.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
Sounds like a bad connection to the sensor.
Re: 3D Touch Sensor:Auto-levelling for Geeetech 3D printer
If so it is a broken cable - the solders and connectors are good.