Probe offset problems

Post Reply
Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:19 pm

So i finally got a firmware to reflash (Marlin 2.0.1) and I have been going through learning how to modify my settings. Everything seems to be running properly except when i try to build a mesh or level corners. When i build a mesh it only hits the center, goes to the middle left off the bed, and just stops. As for the leveling corners I finally got it to get close to the bottom edge of the bed without crashing my x and y steppers but that is the extent. The nozzle hits the edge and drops below, then when i click next point it crashes in to the other 3 corners....and it is loud. I have tried changing all of these settings using formulas i found and just testing numbers out. I really need to make sure my bed is level for my petg seeing as my test cube was a blobby mess. Here is the code i have altered and i have been keeping track of.

#define LEVEL_CORNERS_INSET -33 // (mm) An inset for corner leveling

#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE -10 was 10

#if PROBE_SELECTED && !IS_KINEMATIC
//#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_LEFT MIN_PROBE_EDGE
//#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_RIGHT MIN_PROBE_EDGE
//#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_FRONT MIN_PROBE_EDGE
//#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_BACK MIN_PROBE_EDGE


Formula used after manually inputting

#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_LEFT (-40 <= MIN_PROBE_EDGE ? X_MIN_POS + MIN_PROBE_EDGE : X_MIN_POS + -40)
#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_RIGHT (-40 >= -MIN_PROBE_EDGE ? X_MAX_POS - MIN_PROBE_EDGE : X_MAX_POS + -40)
#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_FRONT (5 <= MIN_PROBE_EDGE ? Y_MIN_POS + MIN_PROBE_EDGE : Y_MIN_POS + 5)
#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE_BACK (5 >= -MIN_PROBE_EDGE ? Y_MAX_POS - MIN_PROBE_EDGE : Y_MAX_POS + 5)


#define Z_MIN_ENDSTOP_INVERTING FALSE // Set to true to invert the logic of the endstop. (was true)

#define MIN_PROBE_EDGE 15 (was 12)

#define RESTORE_LEVELING_AFTER_G28

#define ENABLE_LEVELING_FADE_HEIGHT 3 (3 was blank)

Any and all help would be appreciated because i can't figure out how it works, even after watching videos and reading tons of forum posts that are above my knowledge. :?

Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 10:53 pm

I have tried the inset to 50 and -50 with not change either way.

the combining code (i didn't write it, just copied it) is what got me to stop crashing into the first corner, yet it still does everywhere else.

i enable ubl and after some sanitycheck issues i set the g28 to false because it would give an error if i disable it with //.

the fade height was just another recommendation off a website, which i will change.

The big issue is for some reason i just cant seem to get it to stop crashing. I have set my plate from 220x220 on up to 240x240 (read it was better for probe placement) and nothing works. I dont want to make it 210x210 and lose a bunch of build space. All of this coding is new to me and I have been going through reading it as i modify it. I had some firmware that the splash screen said B450, but i can't find it anywhere again and most every firmware i had would give me the megaat2560 "failed" during build and send, so i am stuck modifying my own that actually worked.

But i got sidetracked, now my endstops crash on every corner x and y and for some reason when leveling corners the end stop switches just get ignored.

here is another line i am having trouble getting figured out as well.

// Travel limits (mm) after homing, corresponding to endstop positions.
#define X_MIN_POS -11
#define Y_MIN_POS 0
#define Z_MIN_POS 0
#define X_MAX_POS X_BED_SIZE
#define Y_MAX_POS Y_BED_SIZE
#define Z_MAX_POS 260

Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:33 pm

i made the changes you recommended but i am still crashing and my nozzle hasnt changed position on the front left corner of the bed :/

Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:55 pm

your fork didnt work. i finally finished mine and have it dialed it and finally printing after 2 days. now i am just trying to figure out if the 2560 v3 board has a 5v current. my bltouch is flashing at 80% duty on layer 2 but off/blue light/2 slow red light blinks on first layer. my bltouch has always done the 80% cycle, my 3dtouch didnt and it worked fine.

Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:55 pm

and when i say it didnt work, i was unable to get it to read the board... or it was a hex... i forgot.

Graff3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: Probe offset problems

Post by Graff3 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:12 am

I use vs code for my firmware. I tried arduino but it never accepts any files i try to work with. you know if the board works with 5v probe support or does it need a stepper?

Post Reply